Floating Lanterns

20131212-165206.jpg

Wow. Floating Lanterns in Thailand. It might not be a disney story but it’s gorgeous. Heck I think it looks better. My invisible friend says I should bite my tongue. Excuse me while I deal with them. (Leaves monitor)

Sounds of scuffling followed by screech. Then dead silence.
(Returns to laptop)

Ahem. I know I did a lantern post before but this is totally different. 😉

Thousands of lanterns are released at the same time. This festival is special because it’s meant as a time to pay respect and is an offering to higher deities- you say a prayer, make a wish and then watch as your lantern floats away. A lot of people believe that the lantern will carry your troubles away with it, which I think is a beautiful idea.

Practice fire safety people. I love this but I get irked when I hear a forest fire was started by an over zealous amateur.

20131212-165157.jpg

20131212-165216.jpg

20131212-165225.jpg
Credit yang tee mon

One thought on “Floating Lanterns

Leave a Reply

